Tags

, ,

shoreditch-high-street

The sun was shining so I thought about going for walk at lunch time down Shoreditch High Street. My colleague and I found a brand new Vietnamese restaurant, that did a cheap take out lunch as well as a clean, modern sit down restaurant. It was a small place but could hold a good 20-30 people.

We took a look at the varied range of traditional dishes. I went for the chicken salad that was with fried chicken. I asked if I could have  the roast chicken instead and was told that this was a menu typo. This was fine by me but we endured an overly apologetic waiter  explain the mistake and literally go though the hundred of paper menu’s to ensure the error was corrected. I have to say I felt little awkward.

My colleague ordered the duck and rice dish ; however we waited and waited and waited. Finally the waitress released we were getting restless and asked us again what we ordered. They had clearly forgotten but instead of apologising they asked for the receipt which felt accusatory. This was not great service although may be a culture difference.

My chicken salad, was light and spicy however overly oily. The duck noodles again were light but lacked seasoning and overly greasy. I think the lack of customer service left a sour taste in our mouths. It was a little strange as the apologies came thick and fast regarding the minor issue of the menu. We think this place has a few issues that need straightening out before it can be a trendy restaurant in the heart of Shoreditch.

As a result Sex Drugs and Bacon Rolls gives this place:

            Food                       Atmosphere                     Service

2 Stars2 Stars Star

cyclo

